top of page

Wedding Week

In the last few years, my definition of "home" has changed largely from a where to more of a what. Although I grew up in southern Wisconsin and both my parents still reside there, home is much more than that. Home is where my favorite people are. Home is where I feel comfortable and loved. Home is special. To me, it is not necessarily a point on a map.

I've spent a lot of time traveling alone. Over time, I've learned to deal with the sacrifice of being separated from the people I hold most dear to my heart in exchange for the chance to fulfill my passion of exploring this colorful planet.

Part of what makes the "being alone" aspect of solo travel easier is knowing that I'll see my favorite people again and being able to share my stories, pictures, and time with them. That being said, I'd been really excited for July 2015 since the day I got the phone call from my one of my best friends, Carly, with news of her engagement.

Carly and Nikolai (the lucky groom) live in Bend which is a fantastic little city in the middle of Oregon, which is a fantastic big state in the pacific northwest, for anyone who needs to brush up on their US geography. I've been to Oregon several times since Carly moved out there after college and I love it more and more with every visit.

The trip I made in July was especially exceptional because 1, it was my first time back in the US in six months, and 2, my whole family and most of my closest friends were all there due to the big event.

The 10 days I spent in Bend this past July were nothing short of marvelous. My days were packed with hugs, high fives, laughter, food, drink, trips to the airport, more hugs, wedding preparation, music, dancing, and mountains of love. I barely slept. I didn't bother taking many pictures. I was living in every moment there, because I truly cherished the time I got to spend with everyone, surrounded by an aura of excitement and joy in my "home" for that week.

Here are a few of my favorite faces. (Some photos were taken by other people and I can't remember where the credit should go. Forgive me.)

Aren't they the most handsome brothers ever?

Kristina Bair
Current Location: Perth, Australia

I set out on an adventure of living life to the fullest through the things I love: travel, diving, hiking, wellness, culture exchange, and overall happiness (and some debauchery, in moderation of course).

 

I live by three general rules:

   1. Stay safe

   2. Have fun.

   3. Be kind.

 

Life dealt me a damn good hand and I'm all in, all day.

FEATURED POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page