top of page

Workaway 2- Taoyuan

Taiwan was somewhat of a surprise in many ways, one being that it was not as "backpacker friendly" as I had anticipated. I assumed I'd have to adjust my budget a bit, as things like food, accommodation, and transportation would cost more than they had in the Philippines. What I didn't realize is that it would be more difficult to get off the beaten path. There are many beautiful hikes, mountain tops, and small villages I would have loved to wander through, but most were only accessible by personal vehicle, something I could not obtain due to my lack of an international drivers license (note to self: get one of those). One mountain even required a permit to hike that must be obtained months in advance. I enjoyed my time in the cities, though, and explored as far as I could.

I had a whole month and I quickly realized that a major draw to Taiwan was not so much to visit, but to live there. (Of all the foreigners I met, only and a handful were traveling. Most were working or studying.) Taiwan may be, honestly, the safest country I've ever visited. There is virtually no crime. The people are extremely kind, peaceful, and helpful, making my stay very pleasant indeed. Things are built for convenience, run efficiently, and are well organized. I wanted the opportunity to feel out what it would be like to live in the country instead of travel, so I got back on the Workaway site and did some research. I actually contacted four different hosts throughout Taiwan, getting rejected every time, before I finally came across Mike and Abby who were probably the best option the whole time.

Mike, from the States, and Abby, from Taiwan, are a busy, newly-wed couple living just outside Taipei. The deal was that I would help out around the apartment (cleaning and stuff) in exchange for a place to stay. The work was actually minimal and I felt like more like a couch-surfer than anything.

Mike and Abby welcomed me warmly into their home, happily showed me around town, gave me advice on what to do with my free time, took me out to night markets, and shared their lives with me. They even taught me how to play Mahjong! I spent over a week with them and formulated my own opinion of life in Taiwan.

I had my own room with a very comfortable bed. The was a workout facility on the first floor where I did yoga almost daily. I used a big hot shower. There were not one, not two, but three 7-Eleven stores within a couple blocks, all for my convenience. An adorable coffee shop was located just around the corner.

My second night in town, Mike, Abby, and couple friends took me out to a chill bar where we played pool until the wee hours of the morning before returning home for a late night noodle cup snack. I promptly exclaimed "best workaway ever!"

I had a great view of the city.

I even got my baby fix while hanging out at the night market where Abby and her friend Amy sold jewelry.

I went for long walks down side streets, never seeing graffiti, broken bottles or even a homeless person.

Life was good here. I liked my situation.

Jerry, an Irish coworker of Mike's, took me across Taipei to go hiking at Yangmingshan National Park. He had just gotten a new scooter and we broke at least a dozen traffic laws that day trying to get to and from the exhausting, beautiful hike. I was no help as a navigator either, yelling things like "turn left here!" while we were already two thirds of the way through an intersection. Hey, we're still alive, right?

Someone's epic selfie at one of the many peaks in the park.

Mike, Abby, and Amy took me to the beach on one of their days off where I enjoyed watching cute kids launch their colorful kites into the windy sky above.

I would have no idea what to do with 90 percent of the items for sale at the seafood market.

On another rainy afternoon that Mike had free, he took me to a hole-in-the-wall pool hall in the basement of one of the university buildings- something only a local would know about.

I helped take out the trash at Abby's parents house, to the amusement of everyone on the block.

I took the thirty minute train ride into Taipei a few times.

I found a beautiful, solitary hike near the tea fields that I was enjoying very much until I realized I had taken a wrong turn somewhere, got hopelessly lost, found this sign that was completely worthless to me, used the compass app on my iPhone to estimate the general direction I should wander, and eventually found my way back to the main road.

I stopped for a few photos along the way.

I'm sure the markers on the tree were put there as guides, but I had no idea what they meant.

Cutest rain shelter I've ever seen.

I got back to the city just in time for the night markets to open, then took a stroll to see the Taipei 101 building lit up.

I went into Taipei a couple times, walking, hiking, eating, etc. Unfortunately, it rained nearly every day I was there.

On my last night in Taoyuan, we set up a hamburger stand. We had spent the day preparing burgers and organizing everything, only to end up with a rainy evening (of course). We sold zero hamburgers except for a few that Abby's family bought, but we still had fun! Plus, it gave Mike and Abby a chance to work out the kinks for the next time.

The overall 'workaway' experience gets two thumbs up. Mike, Abby, and their friends and family were great, the 'work' was easy, and I got to lay low and chill in a nice home for a while. So, could I live in Taiwan long term? Well, of course- I could live anywhere. I adapt. Would I live in Taiwan long term? It wouldn't be my first choice. I've met a lot of people, a lot, who adore Taiwan and everything about it. I get it. The food is outstanding. The people are generous. The country is clean. The transportation is easy. It's a great place to learn Mandarin. The list goes on. Taiwan is fantastic.

For me, personally, it lacks a certain chaos that I need in my life. I function better when things are less routine, more unexpected. I need surprises and excitement that keep me on my toes. For example, I love being able to jump on a bus and not know where I'll get off. I tried that once in Taipei and as soon as I got my Hello Kitty-themed city map out, someone came over and insisted on ensuring I got off at the correct destination, which became an awkward conversation considering I had no destination, but they were determined to help. See, Taiwanese are wonderful people. Apparently the concept of wandering aimlessly simply doesn't exist in their culture (which, to be fair, does seem a little absurd now that I think about it).

Taiwan was amazing, just a little too calm for me.

Now I'm off to see what South Korea has to offer!

Kristina Bair
Current Location: Perth, Australia

I set out on an adventure of living life to the fullest through the things I love: travel, diving, hiking, wellness, culture exchange, and overall happiness (and some debauchery, in moderation of course).

 

I live by three general rules:

   1. Stay safe

   2. Have fun.

   3. Be kind.

 

Life dealt me a damn good hand and I'm all in, all day.

FEATURED POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page