top of page

The Packs

Packing, in my opinion, can either be a stressful pain in the ass (when you are constantly thinking "what am I forgetting?" or "I'll probably need this..." and there is no real end to the process) or it can be extremely simple ("passport- check, cash- check, credit card- check. The rest is arbitrary, lets hit the road"). I prefer the latter, with a tiny bit more effort of course.

Seeing as I don't actually have a destination for this journey nor do I expect to be visiting either of my parents' homes (AKA my storage units) anytime soon, I had to fit everything I could forsee myself needing into a backpack small enough to lug around wherever I go.

So, if you're interested, here is a list of all my things!

IMG_0029_edited.JPG

Backpacks:

REI pack that I've owned and LOVED for about 4 years.

Osprey Mira 18 day pack I got this past year and LOVE.

Essentials:

US Passport

"Macgyver wallet" containing string, rubberbands, bobby pins, a bottle opener, and a pen, as well as

2 Credit Cards

2 Debit Cards

PADI License (for diving)

Driver's License

US Currency

Local Currency

IMG_0208.JPG

Toiletries:

Bar of body soap

Bar of face soap

Bar of shampoo

Facial moisturizer (SPF 15)

Earrings, barrettes, bobby pins, hair ties

Nail clipper, nail file, tweezers

Razor and refills

Tooth brush, toothpaste, floss

Small mirror

Basic med supplies- Athletes foot cream, moleskin, bandaids, Ibuprofin, etc.

IMG_0006_edited.JPG

Cloths:

5 Tank tops

3 T-shirts

2 Shorts

1 Skirt

1 Dress

1 Pair pants

1 Long sleeve (serves as rash guard as well)

1 Sweatshirt

1 Rain jacket

2 Pairs socks

3 Bras

2 Sports bras

10 Pairs undies

IMG_0019_edited.JPG

Footwear:

Flipflops

Strappy sandals

Trail running shoes

IMG_0018_edited_edited_edited.JPG

Electronics:

Macbook Pro Retina

iPhone 5

GoPro Hero 4 Black edition

Canon S110

Kindle

Universal adapter

Various chargers, extra batteries, external hard drive, straps...

Portable "pocket" charger (good for 1.5 iPhone charges)

IMG_0209_edited.jpg

Dive gear:

Fins/Booties

Mask

Dive Computer

Underwater housing for Canon S110

PADI Diver's Log

Miscellaneous:

Yoga mat

Travel towel

Water bottle (which doubles as a sticker collection)

2 pairs Sunglasses

Bandana

Journal

Pens

Lip Balm

Sunscreen

Mosquito repellent

Head lamp

Deck of cards

Small string backpack

Last but not least- my essential of all non-essentials, the jack of all trades, I never leave home without: My sarong, which I like to refer to as a my "Sa-right" because it is good for so many things! Skirt, shirt, cover up, scarf, sheet, pillow, ground cover, temporary umbrella, laundry bag, towel, tourniquet (hopefully not!), floor mat, curtain, you name it!

One last note on packing: anytime I repack to move to a new destination, I ALWAYS double and triple check that I have my passport, wallet w/ credit and debit cards, iPhone, camera, computer, and chargers.

Kristina Bair
Current Location: Perth, Australia

I set out on an adventure of living life to the fullest through the things I love: travel, diving, hiking, wellness, culture exchange, and overall happiness (and some debauchery, in moderation of course).

 

I live by three general rules:

   1. Stay safe

   2. Have fun.

   3. Be kind.

 

Life dealt me a damn good hand and I'm all in, all day.

FEATURED POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page